Hosts file change not taking effect… pounding head against wall via /r/webhosting


Hosts file change not taking effect… pounding head against wall

This is a WP site that I've moved to a new domain. I have changed the IP in the hosts file so as to configure the site before DNS change occurs. It is having no effect. I'm pinging the new domain in Terminal and it's showing the correct IP, so I know that the hosts file is set up properly. But when I visit the domain, it takes me to the old IP. I also contacted the server owner and had him try to edit HIS hosts file, and he ran into the same problem. So, obviously it's something to do with the site. I did not build this site–I inherited it from another designer who was not quite right. Since then it's been Frankensteined by the site owners.

This is a WordPress site. I've disabled all plugins through SFTP (renamed the whole directory) and changed the theme and stylesheet to default in the database just in case. I also renamed the cache file and a couple of caching-related php files.

I've flushed my DNS, I've cleared my browser cache, I've tried it on my Ubuntu machine.

I am pounding my head against the wall. Any ideas?

Submitted August 31, 2016 at 03:56PM by MBWD
via reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/webhosting/comments/50k25d/hosts_file_change_not_taking_effect_pounding_head/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment