[Help Request] Deciding on a hosting service, simply want to run custom PHP on a template site via /r/webhosting


[Help Request] Deciding on a hosting service, simply want to run custom PHP on a template site

Hello! I have some [hopefully] rather simple questions.

I have purchased a domain from Namecheap and am currently looking into hosting options. I expect my site to receive approximately 50 visitors per day, and will grow to no more than 500 per day over the first year. The resource load should be quite minimal; everything will be static aside from a few PHP scripts (pricing calculator, for example) that I have created myself. Additionally, I am considering a system in which clients can create their own accounts and perhaps register an e-mail address with me so I can send out promotional offers and things of that nature; for this, I have experience with MySQL, but am willing to side with any back-end solution that is recommendable. My initial idea was to just transfer the column with e-mail addresses into a CSV file, then copy and paste that into an Outlook mailing list. But anyway…

 

I know not to put all your eggs in one basket, but that is where I started. I saw the promotional offer from Namecheap for EasyWP beta hosting. However, after talking with their support, it appears that I would be limited to 1GB of disk space with no way (support used the word "impossible") to get any additional space, which worries me. Additionally, while the promo price ($10/yr) is solid, after the first year the cost effectiveness…is rather poor in the current market.

 

So, my questions.

  1. I want to generate/use a basic website template, I was thinking WordPress(?) would be best for this. I've scoured google for an answer, but haven't found anything direct:

1a. Can I view ALL the code that WP generates? Can I edit it without restrictions? It's my understanding that client-side languages are good to go out of the box, but languages such as PHP require a plugin, but that isn't hard to do?

1b. Does WP hook into or somehow assist me with systems such as a MySQL database for client information? Would I be forced to host this DB on the same server that hosts my website (Namecheap has me concerned for disk space…)

Please recommend me a hosting service for my needs. I am unfamiliar with Linux or server setup, so would like something managed and as pre-configured as possible. If the company had a reliable livechat support option, that would be wonderful.

 

In summary, I am trying to:

Use GUI to create website template –> view generated code and make edits as needed (copy and paste my PHP scripts into the site) –> hook in client account registration system with SQL backend

Preferably, the editing would be done with something like Notepad++ and Filezilla.

I appreciate all the assistance in advance! Thank you 🙂

Submitted July 10, 2017 at 08:53AM by snow-bear
via reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/webhosting/comments/6mfbgu/help_request_deciding_on_a_hosting_service_simply/?utm_source=ifttt

Leave a comment